Zenith Bank


Saturday, 01 November 2014 13:58

Meet Hajiya Zainab Maina, FCIA, MFR - Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Hajiya Zainab Maina Hajiya Zainab Maina

Hajiya Zainab Maina, FCIA, MFR, CON, is the current Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development of the Federal Republic of Nigeria since July 2011.

BIODATA AND EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND: The amiable and politically savvy Hajiya Zainab Maina, MFR, FCIA was born on the 7th day of August, 1948 at Kagara in Niger State.  She hails from Mubi North of Adamawa State. She obtained a National Diploma and Higher Diploma in Catering and Hotel Management in 1967 and 1969 respectively at the famous Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna State.

Hajiya Zainab Maina was not satisfied with her qualifications even at a time when the girl-child enrolment in schools up North was at its lowest; she still proceeded to acquire an Advanced Diploma in Public Administration at the same Kaduna Polytechnic in the year 1970.  In 2001, she acquired a Certificate in Institution Building Activities at the Centre for Development and Population (CEDPA), Washington DC, USA.She is happily   married to Alhaji Umar Joji Maina, the Dan-maliki of Mubi emirate council   in Adamawa State and they are blessed with children and grandchildren.


Hajiya Zainab Maina quietly but with dint of hard work rose to the height of political relevance  as one of the founding members of the strongest political party in Africa since 1999 which led to her membership in the PDP  Board of Trustees and a strong voice to reckon with in the political emancipation of the Nigerian woman,  a cause she has championed since youth and directed the affairs of PDP women as National Director Women Affairs of the late President Yar’Adua campaign in 2007 and later National Director Women Affairs of the President Goodluck Jonathan’s campaign in 2011.
In the PDP “think tank” machinery, Hajiya Zainab Maina is fondly referred to as Mummy by her numerous female political protégés, commands a great deal of respect and adulation for decades due to the singular reason of being a passionate advocate for women and youth socio-economic and political emancipation.

Prior to her Ministerial appointment in July 2011, Zainab Maina was Board Chairman, National Commission for Nomadic Education(2009–2011); Founding Board Chairman and Director , Garki Microfinance Bank (1998) and still director of same bank; Deputy Chairman, Police Community Relations Committee FCT Command(1998-Date);National vice chairman of the PCRC, Member, Vision 2010 Committee(1997);Board Member, National Programme on Immunization (1998–2000); Board Member, Adamawa State Primary Schools Board(1991–1994), Executive Secretary, Adamawa State Commission for Women from 1994 to 1997 and Board Member, Family Economic Advancement Programme (FEAP) (1997–2000). The Hon. Minister as then Executive Secretary of Adamawa state Commission for Women contested and won a landslide victory to emerge as  the National President – National Council for Women Societies (NCWS) Nigeria from1997-2001. Perhaps even more significantly is the fact that Hajiya Zainab Maina was indeed a Clerical Officer to the then Premier of the Northern Region (Sir Ahmadu Bello, Sardauna of Sokoto) in 1966.

In the ruling party in Nigeria, Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), Zainab Maina holds sway as part of the Think-Tank Member of the PDP Elders Committee; Member of the PDP Board of Trustees; Director, Women Affairs of the Jonathan/Sambo Presidential Campaign(2010); Member, PDP Presidential Electoral/Screening Committee(2010); National Women Representative, PDP Presidential Campaign Council(2007);National delegate, PDP representing FCT in 2003-2006; Delegate, National Political Reform Conference (NPRC)-2005;Women Representative, PDP Reconciliation Committee on the Executive/Legislative Impasse(2002); International Convener, Home Economics and Consumer Affairs International Council of Women (ICW) Bangkok, Thailand(1993).


Founder/President, Women for Peace Initiative (WOPI) Nigeria Patron, Young Muslim Women Association, Nigeria Sub-Regional Coordinator- Anglophone Africa, International Council for Women Member, World Association of NGOs (WANGO) Member, West African Civil Society Forum (WACSOF) INGO Ambassador, International Non-Governmental Organization(London, UK)


She has through the years made her mark in volunteerism as founder and President of the Women for Peace Initiative (WOPI) and a world renowned NGO Ambassador, International Non-Governmental Organization London, UK.

Hajiya Zainab Maina is a recipient of the Jean Harris Award by the Rotary International for her exceptional role in the service of humanity.  She also emerged the undisputed winner of the distinguished eagle achievement award Newark in New Jersey; the United States of America also bestowed on her the prestigious certificate of recognition for her commitment in inspiring young girls and women globally. The Youths in Africa saw in Hajiya Zainab Maina, an Amazon for peace and collusiveness as they crowned her with the Africa Youth Congress Award on the authority of the Senate Headquarters, Banjul, the Gambia in West Africa. 

In addition, she is an Ambassador for Peace by the Universal Peace Federation and the Inter-Religious and International Federation for World Peace, and an Honorary Citizen of Kansas City, USA. She is also a Fellow of the African Business School, FABS, and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Administration , FCIA.

Hajiya Zainab Maina is currently a Commander of the Order of the Niger, CON

Read 7653 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Xclusive Nigeria Television (XNTV)


- Advertisement -